Getting a tarot card reading can be very exciting – it can give us an insight into our past, present, and future, give us perspective within our current problems and acts as a counseling tool.

However, before you receive your online tarot reading, it may be helpful to learn about the cards in the deck and the meaning and symbolism behind them.

The Deck

A complete deck of tarot cards includes 78 cards. The first 22 cards are called the ‘Major Arcana’ while the remaining 56 are called ‘Minor Arcana’. The Minor Arcana are divided into four suits/sets: Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles. Each suit contains 14 cards; out of these 14, 10 are numbered, while the remaining four are the Page, Knight, Queen, and King.

Major Arcana

The major arcana cards focus on the big-picture of your life and the direction it is heading in. They are less specific and deal with more general ideas. Let’s explore the meanings behind some of these cards:

The Fool

The Fool is the first of the Major Arcana cards. When upright, it tells us to identify the path of personal development within ourselves. When reversed, it means you are dealing with a side of yourself that is yet to mature; a psychological attitude is holding you back.

The Magician

When upright, the magician symbolizes the one who holds true healing and finds the divine gold within themselves. When reversed, it suggests you are working against your creativity; something is holding you back (from taking leadership roles).

The High Priestess

Upright, the high priestess represents human wisdom and the one that holds such knowledge. Reversed, it shows that you may be too invested in your inner life; you tend to ignore your reality and your interests within this reality.

The Empress

When upright, the empress represents the energy of the great mother, fertility, and nature. On the other hand, when reversed, it represents the natural power the mother uses to punish her children, such as tsunamis and earthquakes.

The Emperor

The Emperor represents leadership and the most powerful person. However, when reversed, it represents a petty tyrant who is self-indulgent and prefers to have his version of events portrayed.


This card depicts nature that the inner, feminine force has tamed. The feminine force reduces the destructive aspects of nature by nurturing them. When reversed, it depicts that your behavior cannot be modified; you act on instinct.

The Devil

The side of us that is not morally acceptable. This side of our personality hides in the dark corners of our subconsciousness. It is representative of the ‘Id’ from Freudian psychoanalysis. When reversed, this card shows that you may like to create chaos and trouble for no reason.

The Star

When upright, the star represents one’s ability to be themselves. When reversed, it shows that you are separated from yourself, your brilliance, and your usefulness.


Minor Arcana

Unlike major arcana that deals with broader themes, minor arcana deals with more specific day-to-day scenarios. There are four suits within the minor arcana; let’s delve into what they represent:


The suit of wands is related to the element of fire – it focuses on our creativity, purpose, and how we fit into our individual force. They deal with action, invention, and initiation. Some of the cards within this suit are as such:

  • Five of Wands – Represents struggles caused by ambition and our urge to be competitive.
  • Ten of Wands – Representative of a commitment that requires our maximum effort.
  • Page of Wands – Someone who is unique and is independent they do not seek out the approval of others.


The suit of cups relates to the element of water; they deal with emotions, relationships, and intuition. This suit includes:

  • Seven of Cups – Links to works of creativity and imagination, where one uses their imagination to create a life in their mind that is different from the one they live.
  • Queen of Cups – A woman who offers unconditional love.
  • King of Cups – A force to be reckoned with; one who exudes power.


The suit of swords is connected to the element of air, and hence, the mental realm. They deal with challenges and conflicts you may face. Some cards within this suit are:

  • Ace of Swords – This is the ideal or vision that continues to guide you through life.
  • Four of Swords – Tells us to move away from our busy lives and asks us to step back and contemplate.
  • Knight of Swords – Represents the restless mind, one who is constantly irritated and lacks focus.


The suit of pentacles stems from the element of earth. They focus on the material world, not just money, but also our values and feelings of worth. These cards are used to answer questions about your personal goals, health, family, and money. Some examples of the cards within this suit are:

  • Six of Coins – One who is generous, but only for their benefit.
  • Eight of Coins – The artisan who works hard to a point where they overly exhaust themselves.
  • Nine of Coins – One who is financially stable and can support themselves to live a comfortable life.


Now that you have a basic understanding of the cards, it’s time to get a online tarot card reading! These days, it is pretty easy to get one online. Rather than going to a tarot reader, you can easily get a reading on your computer in just a few minutes – it’s completely hassle-free!

You can find online tarot readings that are free of cost with ease; take a look at this one (insert external link). Online readings are just as accurate as physical ones, and even better, they’re more convenient too! You won’t be required to take a large chunk of time out of your day to receive a reading; all you need is a few minutes of your spare time.

Getting an insight into your life and personality has never been easier!